4 a.m.

In the cold hours before dawn
Awakened, I lay exhausted.
My eyes are heavy and swollen
My muscles are worn and asleep.
Six months this tradition has been
I am deeply unable to adjust.
The world snoozing outside
Cozy and warm in their beds
No obligation but to dream
My envy for them is intense.
Cold and dark in my room
Silence, but for one thing-
The baby awake and fussing,
Ready for a new day to start.
No anger, annoyance, or bother-
All burden has melted away,
For my strength comes from her smile
And her laugh gives me my life
And together we start our day
In the cold hours before dawn.
-R.B.
Leave a Reply

